Tuesday, 25 August 2009

Pinoy Math wizards bag 102 medals

Manila Bulletin

SINGAPORE — Filipino math wizards won 102 medals, including 16 golds, in the 5th International Mathematics Contest (IMC) which was held here from August 20-24.

The IMC drew 557 contestants from Singapore, China, Hong Kong, Taiwan, Indonesia, Malaysia, India and the Philippines.

Dr. Simon Chua, head of delegation and president of the Mathematics Trainers Guild-Philippines, told the Manila Bulletin that the country won 16 gold medals, 27 silvers and 59 bronze medals for a total of 102, compared to 75 medals the country won last year in the IMC.

With the total medal haul this year, the Philippines placed second overall behind China.

“This is the best performance of our students in the competition. Almost all our contestants each won a medal,” said Chua.

Dr. Chua identified the gold medalists as Andrea Aiyanna Borbe of UNO High School, Christopher Kohchet-Chua of Saint Jude Catholic School, Mark Christopher Uy of Xavier School, Farrell Eldrian Wu of MGC New Life Christian Academy, Josh Thomas Clement of West Visayas State University, Miguel Lorenzo Ildesa of PAREF Westbridge School-Iloilo, Andrew Vince Lee of Xavier School, Raphael Villaluz of San Beda College Alabang, Andrew Brandon Ong of Chiang Kai Shek College, Czarina Angela Lao of Saint Jude Catholic School, Neil Phillip Poral of West Visayas State University, Ana Karenina Batungbakal of San Beda College Alabang, Allen Cedrick Domingo of San Beda College Alabang, Audrey Celine Lao of Saint Jude Catholic School, Camille Tyrene Dee of Immaculate Concepcion Academy, and Hazel Joy Shi of Philippine Cultural High School.

The silver medalists are: Kevin Brian Branzuela of Saint Jude Catholic School Sage Javis Co of Xavier School, Rainielle Maegan Cua of Saint Jude Catholic School, Luis Salvador Diy of Xavier School, Xavier Jefferson Ray Go of Zamboanga Chong Hua High School, Sedrick Scott Keh of Xavier School, Matthew Johann Uy of Xavier School, Alyssa Guevara of De La Salle Santiago Zobel, Clyde Wesley Ang of Chiang Kai Shek College, Jillian Therese Robredo of Unibersidad de Sta. Isabel, Felix Suarez Jr. of Oton Central Elementary School, Ramon Galvan III of Children Integrated School of Alta Tierra, Andrew Lawrence Sy of Saint Jude Catholic School, Raymond Joseph Fadri of San Beda College Alabang, Rafael Jose Santiago of PAREF Southridge School, Jasper John Segismundo of Pasig Catholic College, Jean Leonardo Abagat of Notre Dame of Greater Manila, Deanne Rochelle Abdao of Integrated Montessori Center, Jose Agerico Bacal II of Rosevale School, Ma. Christiana Guillermo of O.B. Montessori Center, Kaye Janelle Yao of Grace Christian College, Jerome Claude Palaganas of Angelicum College, Casey Oliver Turingan of San Beda College Alabang, Zixin Zhang of Grace Christian College, Lance Robin Chua of Bayanihan Institute, Alvin Ian Chan of St. Paul College of Ilocos Sur, and Gisel Ong of Grace Christian College.

No comments:

Post a Comment