Tuesday, 15 December 2009

4Ps expands to cover all Mimaropa provinces


Puerto Princesa City (11 December) -- All the five island provinces of Mindoro Oriental, Mindoro Occidental, Marinduque, Romblon and Palawan will benefit from the country’s poverty reduction strategy program: Pantawid Pamilyang Pilipino Program or 4Ps.

On top of the P272,339,613 million released so far for 4Ps in Mindoro provinces and Palawan covering about 50,906 beneficiaries as of December 1, 2009, the program expands to cover more beneficiaries in municipalities and cities with pockets of poverty. The 4 Pswill now help a total of 31 municipalities and one city in the region.

The Pantawid Pamilyang Pilipino Program in MIMAROPA will now include an additional 11 municipalities and one city in Marinduque, Palawan and Romblon. These are the towns of Araceli, Coron, Puerto Princesa City, Rizal, Roxas and Sofronio Espanola in Palawan. The program has also added the towns of Sta. Fe, San Agustin,and Corcuera in Romblon; and, Sta. Cruz, Buenavista, and Torrijos in Marinduque.

The Pantawid Pamilyang Pilipino Program is poised to achieve the Millenium Davelopment Goals such as eradicate extreme poverty and hunger, achieve universal primary education, promote gender equality, reduce child mortality and improve maternal health through its conditional cash transfer scheme by providing cash grants to beneficiaries in exchange for their compliance to the program conditionalities. (PIA)

No comments:

Post a Comment