Tuesday, 2 March 2010

Inspection of the start of civil works for the Tarlac Rosales section of the Tarlac-Pangasinan-La Union Expressway Project

Rosales, Pangasinan


ROSALES, Pangasinan (PND) - President Gloria Macapagal-Arroyo will lead the groundbreaking tomorrow (Monday, March 1) of the country's next expressway project: the 88-kilometer, four-lane Tarlac-Pangasinan-La Union Expressway (TPLEX) to be built at a cost of P16.88-billion.

TPLEX will extend modern expressway travel to Northern Luzon and nearer to Baguio City from Tarlac, the farthest point traversed by the merging the SCTEX (Subic, Clark Tarlac Exchange) at Tarlac and the NLEX (North Luzon Expressway).

Rosario, La Union is the main entry point to Baguio City.

To be built by the Department of Public Works and Highways, TPLEX will be transferred soon after completion to the private sector which will manage the new road under the private public partnership program (PPP).

The new expressway is seen to spur economic development in Regions 1, 2, 3 and the Cordillera Autonomous Region.

The TPLEX is one of President Arroyo's strategic projects in the North Luzon Agribusiness Quadrangle Super Region, one of the five growth corridors she laid out in her 2006 Super Region development strategy.

TPLEX is expected to cut travel time from Tarlac to La Union and Baguio City by two hours. Areas to be traversed are the towns of Victoria, Gerona, Paniqui and Moncada, all in Tarlac; Carmen, Urdaneta, Binalonan, Pozzorubio and Sison, all in Pangasinan.

Phase 1 of the TPLEX will be two lanes initially while Phase 2 will be expanded to four lanes when vehicle load target reaches 25,000 per day.

As of Feb. 25, 2010, P438 million has been released by government for right of way acquisitions and detailed engineering plans.

No comments:

Post a Comment