Tuesday, 11 May 2010

Arroyo assures smooth transition

Arroyo casts vote in home province; remaining work set

PRESIDENT GLORIA Macapagal-Arroyo yesterday voted in her hometown of Lubao, in Pampanga province where she is running for congressman in the second congressional district.

After hearing mass at the San Agustin Church, the President, clad in aquamarine top and dark grey pants, arrived at precinct 0001-A of Lubao Central Elementary School a little past 7:00 a.m.

The President was listed as voter 64 out of a total of 160 voters in the precinct cluster.

It took her four minutes to complete her vote, after which she proceeded to the precinct count optical scan (PCOS) machine to feed her ballot under the guidance of an election inspector.

Feeling nervous that her ballot would not be accepted, she left out a sigh of relief after the machine read "Congratulations" at first attempt.

Mrs. Arroyo earlier assured that she will step down from her post on June 30, and started the process of creating a team that would allow for smooth transition of power to the next president.

The second congressional district is currently occupied by Mrs. Arroyo’s son, Juan Miguel M. Arroyo, who is gunning for a congressional seat as a nominee of party-list group Ang Galing Pinoy, which represents security guards, tricycle drivers and vendors.

President’s agenda

Meanwhile, Malacañang said "the results of the May 10 elections notwithstanding, there will be no change in the direction and pace of [the President’s] agenda of transition, stability and legacy during the remaining 50 days of her term."

In a statement, Deputy Presidential Spokesman Gary B. Olivar said the President’s agenda would revolve around three themes, namely, transition, stability and legacy.
"Whoever our people may elect to succeed the President, that person can be assured that the full weight and might of the [Arroyo] administration’s resources will be brought to bear to ensure an orderly transfer of power to the president-elect, and the maintenance of stability and continuity of our essential republican institutions," he said.

Mrs. Arroyo and all national officials elected in 2004 with a six-year term, and local officials elected in 2007 would step down from office on June 30.

The country’s next set of leaders would hold office starting at noon of June 30.

No comments:

Post a Comment