Tuesday, 29 June 2010

Final assessment of government performance held

PGMA confers medals on Fr. Pascual, Donald Dee

President Gloria Macapagal Arroyo today conferred the Order of Golden Heart with a rank of Golden Cross on Fr. Anton C. F. Pascual, chairman of the Pro Performance System Steering Committee (PPS-SC), and the Presidential Medal of Merit on Donald G. Dee for his partnership with the Philippine government.

As chairman of the Pro Performance System Steering Committee, Pascual was in charge of monitoring the developments of programs and projects of the Arroyo administration and ensuring their completion, identifying backlogs, and meeting with the various stakeholders to be affected by such programs and projects to ensure that they will feel the impact of these projects in their lives.

Dee was given the presidential medal of merit for helping the Arroyo administration achieve its goals and mobilizing the private sector to help the government realize its vision for the country.

The two attended the PPS-SC meeting held at noon at the Arlegui Mansion, which was participated in by both government and private industry leaders to analyze and summarize the Arroyo administration’s scoreboard of its projects and programs.

As mandated by Executive Order No. 789 of March 2009, the PPS is tasked with being the integrated monitoring system to facilitate, evaluate and advocate and to strategically monitor the implementation of the President’s priority programs and projects.

The steering committee is headed by Fr. Pascual of Caritas Manila and co chaired by Maria Elena Bautista-Horn of the Presidential Management Staff and has members from mass media, the youth, business, church/religious sector, local governments, civil society organizations, academe, national government and international development organization.

Dee represents the business sector; Ambassador Marita Magpili-Jimnez of the Asian Development Bank for international development organizations; Ruperto Nicdao of Kapisanan ng mga Brodkaster ng Pilipinas for mass media; Dr. Vincent Fabella of the COCOPEA for the academe; Mayor Benhur Abalos of the Union of Local Authority of the Philippines for local governments; Rosario Uriarte of the Philippine Charity Sweepstakes Office for government; and Richard Nalupta for the youth.

The PPS-SC reported that of the remaining 102 programs and projects, it is still closely monitoring the ongoing construction of six of which 47 are 85 to 90 percent complete and are expected to be completed by the second semester of 2010.

There are 35 projects that are in various pre-construction stages from procurement, right of way acquisition and loan application and negotiation stages. These are also being continuously monitored by the PPS-SC to ensure that civil works are started within the second semester of 2010.

To date, a total of 52 priority infrastructure projects have been completed amounting to P10.6 billion as of June 2010. (PND)

No comments:

Post a Comment